France’s plan to cut down food waste

Community Service is one of my favorite things to do. I like giving back to the community, because when helping other people, it makes me happy inside. Albert Einstein once said, “We know from daily life that we exist for other people first of all, for whose smiles and well-being our own happiness depends.” With many people in this world impoverished, we need to provide them with the necessary nutrients they need to live. Today at school, I, with many others, helped make about 325 lunches for people in need at the Samaritan House. I learned from the organizer that usually, lunch is the only meal the people at the Samaritan House have per day.

France has created a petition/plan to help many people in their country. According to research, the amount of food waste a local supermarket in France wastes per day is more than 20kg, about 40lbs. Also, shockingly, we only eat 2/3 of the food that is available to us and waste the rest. It is our fault that we are wasting away food that is important and vital to our society and the people in our community.

I know that I have been wasting food for the past 12 years of my life. From now on, I feel like fixing that old habit so that I can be grateful for the opportunities that I have.

20764b286367ee1486d8536756bfb3c8.jpg

Leave a Reply

