Laser Cutting(Leather Watch Straps)

Today I made my own leather watch straps at the Tech Shop!  I decided to use scrap purple leather and etch insects on them.

After everyone laser cutted their straps, we lubricated each part. The lubrication is used so that the leather watch straps have a finished look.  After the lubrication, we had to hand sew each part. This was the hardest part of it all. Remembering the steps to each band made it really confusing. While hand sewing the bands together, realized that my leather was really thin. Some parts of it were already torn. Next time I will be sure to use a medium hardness leather. Since this calss was mostly for adults, I realized that the leather bands were too big for me, so I had to create another hole using a hole puncher in my leather.

I really like this project, even though it took a lot of time and carefulness. It was very easy to mess up something and I needed the teacher’s help all the time. I hope I can make leahter watch straps on my own soon!

IMG_4643
Me cutting the watch straps, and then sandpapering them to make them smooth.

IMG_4646.JPG

IMG_4649
Me hole punching another hole in the band.
Leave a Reply

