TRANSIT OF MERCURY!!!!!!!!

May 9th, today was the transit of mercury. This only happens one time in 14 years. And I got to see it!. An astronomy teacher at my school,Mr.P, set up a telescope that pointed toward to the sun and well, Mercury. When I saw the telescope, I ran to it dropping my books and totally forgetting about class. I actually missed 5 minutes of biology class. Looking through the telescope, Mercury seemed like a pinprick, barely visible to the human eye.The sun seemed to be about 10,000 times the size of Mercury.

You can watch the whole transit here.

Mercury_transit_2.jpg

Leave a Reply

