2017 BizWorld Girlpreneurship Competition

On October 1st, I nervously walked up on a stage and pitched a business idea in front of a panel of judges and a crowd of people.

I was selected as one of the 5 finalists to pitch my idea at the 2017 Bizworld Girlpreneurship competition, which took place at the World Wide Women Festival at The Hive in Oakland, California. Called the mini “shark tank” for girls, the Bizworld Girlpreneurship Competition is a business pitch competition for girls from 8 to 18.

My idea, Shopping Mate, is a web app that will revolutionize the shopping industry by using a personalized quiz-based approach, making it fun and easy for customers to narrow down the myriad of products into a few items that will meet their needs. An example (or Minimum Viable Product) of Shopping Mate that I invented is Bye Bye Acne (check out the blog post for Bye Bye Acne here and the web app here).

IMG_2829

As finalists, we had one week to get our pitch and slideshows together. During that stressful week, I recited my pitch everywhere: in the shower, at school, and in front of other people, until I finally nailed it down.

Though I didn’t win, it was a great experience for me. This was the first time I spoke in front of a large group of people without a script. I learned so much and I’m so excited to further be able to use my skills, whether it’s public speaking or building a business, in the future.

 

Leave a Reply

